Weekending XIV

Hello Monday…

I hope you all were able to enjoy your long holiday weekend with friends, family and outdoors. It was a gorgeous weekend here in Chicagoland and a 3 day weekend could not have come at a better time. Last week was a bit hectic and stressful with work so having 3 days to relax, enjoy & unwind was exactly what I needed.

MIMM

So lets get right into this weeks weekending extravaganza! Linking up with Katie today & every Monday.

Friday Brent & I got up and headed straight to the DMV. After a successful trip at the social security office on Thursday I was equipped to head to the DMV to get a new ID, change the information on my title & registration. We waited for 20-30minutes before getting called up to get my license changed. After filing through that line we headed to a second line where I could change my title & registration. All parts were pretty easy, a little waiting but overall we were prepared with my whole life in documents so it didn’t take too long. When we went to pay for the title/registration I gave her my credit card, she asked for my ID so I gave her my new ID and she told me she couldnt accept my payment because my name was different on both documents. WHAT!!! I just changed my name that was the whole reason for us coming to the DMV!!! I freaked out for a minute but then said “I have my marriage license??” which she took and processed my payment with.

the line at the social security office on Thursday

the line at the social security office on Thursday

Brent & I joked that I need to carry a copy of my marriage license in my wallet until all my credit cards change. That’s the next big bridge to cross!

After the DMV we headed to the gym for a quick chest lifting session. I have been doing barbell lifts with Brent then doing some different lifts when he goes to dumbbells as I was feeling pretty stagnant in my lifting routine. After doing incline & flat bench I did dumbbell presses & flyes on a stability ball to engage my core then some push up variations. It was a good burn workout and definitely felt good to start the day with a workout.

boat, beer, sun & friends... the perfect combination!

boat, beer, sun & friends… the perfect combination!

We then headed up to Wisconsin for a day with our friends Brian & Gina on the lake. Brian’s parents own a condo on the lake and have a pontoon boat so we cruised around the lake, chatted & enjoyed way to many delicious snacks along with a few drinks before stopping and jumping in for a quick swim. The boys braved the water first and after about an hour they got warm again and talked Gina & I in the lake. I was not super excited about the 74deg water temperature but once I got in the water really did feel good and super refreshing! After a while we headed back to the cottage and grilled up some dinner. It was the perfect day to relax and enjoy friends on the lake. Pure-perfection!

Saturday we got up and hit the gym for a Fourth of July back burn out workout. I love back days, its one of my favorite days in the gym and Saturday did not disappoint! After our sweat session we hit the showers and got ready for a fun Fourth of July day with some of rents friends from High School. Once showered we hit the road towards Brent’s home town.

AND a belated happy birthday to my girl Kasey!

AND a belated happy birthday to my girl Kasey!

Once we got to Chris’s house we relaxed a bit & chatted before Ryan & Kaley along with their 1year old Tinley made it to the house. We all chatted and caught up, it was nice to see the 3 of them again as they were all at our wedding! Brent & I had not met the babe so it was also great to get some baby time and play with their sweet girl. We then headed to Chris’s families 4th party where we relaxed, ate BBQ and played a few games of Cornhole.

picnic food at its finest!

picnic food at its finest!

Before long the sun had set and Chris’s family started to load up the trucks for their “famous” firework show. Chris, his dad & uncle all set off a pretty impressive display of fireworks in the back property of their country house. It was awesome to have watched such a personal firework show and while probably not as many fireworks as downtown Chicago it was an impressive display and nice to be right under them!

Have you guys tried this stuff? It tastes just like root beer. A fun twist during a hot summer day!

Have you guys tried this stuff? It tastes just like root beer. A fun twist during a hot summer day!

Sunday was a pretty typical recovery day… we drove back & hit the grocery store and grabbed lunch before doing our shopping. When we got home it was nap time then food prep, laundry & getting started on our wedding thank you cards. We had quite the loot of leftover beer from the weekend so Brent went to work on reorganizing the fridge to fit all the beer, organized by type, for easy access. I’m pretty sure we have enough beer for the rest of the summer so if anyone wants to come over and have a few the beer is on me!

Organization perfection!

Organization perfection!

Phew!! This week I am meeting up with a friend from college who is coming to the city for a conference and then we are heading to Michigan for the weekend & are doing a fun run with my family on Saturday.

Signature 2

2 thoughts on “Weekending XIV

  1. Looks like you had a lovely weekend. I think the name change adventure is more work than the actual wedding. Seems like it took me forever to get everything changed.

Leave a comment