Workout Mentality – Practicing What I Preach

Happy Monday!

FIRST if you have not yet entered to win your copy of Yoga+Creativity you still have time, head over HERE to read my review and win!

As you all know I am a Physical Therapist and I tell patients all the time “if it hurts, don’t do it” OR “this is not a no pain no gain situation”

I am really good at telling patients what to do and how to do it to get better, and they get better. Partially because I give them exercises, strengthen them and educate them to use their muscles in a way they didn’t previously know to use them. Also because I use my hands to physically correct deficits they have, this is the PT magic 😉

I am really bad however, at taking all the education & voice of reason that I give my patients and put it on myself. I workout hard 5 days a week before I go to work, then I go to work and perform a rather physical job for 8 hours a day. I love that I am moving all day at work, that I get to use my hands along with my brain each day to help others, but at the end of the day I am tired. My body and muscles are tired from working out and work and I often forget to take some extra time for myself.

This includes working on my sore muscles, trying to correct my own joint alignments, and finding mental health time for me.

As a PT I think know I am extra aware of my body and the aches/pain that I have along with what is causing them. I also am the WORST at taking care of myself.

Last week Brent & I were talking and he said to me

“why don’t you just sleep in tomorrow morning, you are wearing yourself so thin, don’t you think you need a rest day”

This sent me into a little tizzy because I truly LOVE my morning workouts, I feel so much better in the morning after working out and I honestly feel that I am a better therapist when I have endorphins for breakfast. Brent gets this but he also was seeing how tired I was, how emotionally drained I was, hearing how much my hip hurt and saw that I really could use some extra sleep. What I saw was “if I don’t workout, I will feel like a failure, I can rest on the weekend.”

My workout mentality is almost as bad as my diet mentality

Exercise is my “me” time, I feel the best after a good workout, but when I am sore, tired, and mentally drained I don’t have a good workout and then I get down on myself. It can be a very vicious cycle very similarly to putting rules & restrictions on food. I have found myself classifying my workouts and this is not okay.

So I am doing something to help rectify myself. Through exercise modifications, asking for help and starting some new projects to help decrease the stress in my life.

I cannot control most things but I can control my workouts and I can workout the best way possible. So instead of beating myself up over a poor workout or decreased energy I WILL control my situation and use my time at the gym for ME not for anyone else.

Signature
Who do you exercise for?
Have you ever caught yourself putting rules on your workout?

2 thoughts on “Workout Mentality – Practicing What I Preach

  1. I understand this totally!!! I was hard on myself with my injury but I felt I needed the workout. Eventually I learned that I needed to learn to take a break, definitely keep that in mind throughout wedding planning too!

    • Glad I am not alone my dear! I am so glad I know when to listen to my body, I just need to get a little better at it. Always room for improvement right 😉

      ohh yeah that wedding thing… I guess I should start planning again!! 😛

Leave a Reply

