Weekend Warriors!

Hey Friends!

After our rest day on Thursday I was ready to lace up my sneakers and hit the… FARMERS MARKET!! & then the gym. Being new to Rockford I have no idea what to do, where to go.. I am pretty good at finding the gym, grocery store, and OBVIOUSLY the mall 😉

Friday I was talking to a patient who is another Rockford newbie and she was telling me about the Rockford City Market. This is a farmers market downtown Rockford on the river, they have tons of different vendors.. farm stands, some local shops such as jewelry/clothing/art & local food vendors & food trucks. SINCE we were planning on going to the gym right after the market we just browsed around and decided to come back another day.

Some quick shots from our trip to the market!

Some quick shots from our trip to the market!

On our way to the gym Brent’s stomach started to get the best of us and he decided he was in NEED of food. We decided to have an impromptu date night and skip the gym, so we headed out for a major CHEAT meal. We went to a Mexican restaurant and I immediately wanted a margarita. We ordered a “monster” && MONSTER IT WAS!!! Holy moly batman this girl is a LIGHT WEIGHT, and that margarita took all my energy to finish. Thankfully there was some tasty chips & salsa to help soak it up. We had made plans to meet up with some other friends, BUT we both ended up passing out at home… Sorry party people I might only be 25 but this body is a one {{MONSTER}} margarita party.

My HUGE Strawberry Margarita! Brent's was equally huge Lime!

My HUGE Strawberry Margarita! Brent’s was equally huge Lime!

To  “make-up” for our two skipped days this week we decided to hit the gym TWICE Saturday. Saturday mornings workout was really Thursday’s chest & tri’s workout… Our evening workout was Friday’s shoulders & legs workout. By the end of our workout I could already feel my chest getting sore from this morning & my shoulders were on fire from our evening workout. I LOVED IT!!

In the end, people will judge you anyway. Don't live your life impressing others. Live your life impressing yourself.

After our late night lift we got a little silly doing #selfies in the mirror… practicing our duck faces & just being crazy was a great way to end our two-a-day saturday!!

After the morning workout to refuel we made a massive smoothie. It was filled with Waxy Maze (A quick digesting carbohydrate supplement), Creatine, Glutamine, Vanilla Protein Powder, Almond Milk, Water, Frozen Blueberries, Frozen Peaches & CHIA SEEDS!! I am going to be COMPLETELY honest, it was a bit gritty but once you got over the texture it really wasn’t bad. The blueberries & peaches really take over the flavor! I felt full & satisfied after a hard workout. Later we fueled up on a late lunch/early dinner of grilled fish, sweet potato & salad!

Grilled Tilapia!!! working on my grill marks!

Grilled Tilapia!!! working on my grill marks!

It’s SUNDAY and I was really wanting a hearty breakfast. I knew we would need something substantial to make up for all we did yesterday & for the workout we had yet to do today. I wanted to make something “Sunday comforting” but was healthy and guilt-free. I decided to take our normal Eggs breakfast && ramp it up by making a stuffed omelet with roasted potatoes.

IT WAS AMAZINGGGG so I wanted to share the recipe with YOU! I used ingredients that I grabbed at the store yesterday, but this could EASILY be turned 100% vegetarian or used with whatever meat protein you have on hand! I will say if/when I make it again I will change the egg quantity, it was a BIT MUCH!!! {{either change to all egg whites, 3 whole eggs, or 2whites/2whole}}

Our monster omelet & potatoes breakfast! I also brewed coffee the night before and refrigerated overnight for our drink!

Our monster omelet & potatoes breakfast! I also brewed coffee the night before and refrigerated overnight for our drink!

Rosemary Potatoes

5 medium red skinned potatoes –thick slice setting on mandolin

3 tbsp. rosemary

2 tbsp. pepper

2 tbsp. olive oil

{{I didn’t really measure, just add seasoning until your heart is happy!}}

  1. Preheat oven to 475deg, while oven is preheating prep potatoes by slicing on the mandolin {{WATCH YOUR FINGERS!!!}} over a large bowl.
  2. Add pepper, rosemary & olive oil to potatoes with your hands massage the seasoning and make sure each potato has some love.
  3. Spread out on a sprayed cookie sheet in a single layer {{I had to slightly overlap but its okay!!}}
  4. POP In the oven for 15 minutes, FLIP and cook another 10 minutes.  Or until nicely brown and slightly bubbly

MONSTER Turkey & Mushroom Omelets

3 turkey sausage links – casing removed

1 small onion

1 pint sliced mushrooms

2 tspb. chives

Pepper to taste

6 egg whites

6 whole eggs

2 tsp. Plain Greek Yogurt

  1. Heat large skillet with olive oil on high, add thinly sliced onion & turkey, cook on medium/medium-high until browned à transfer into a bowl & cover with tinfoil
  2. In the same skillet, add mushroom, sauté until just starting to brown, add pepper and a tiny bit of salt to help the browning process, finish with 2 TBSP chives, set aside.
  3. Wisk 3 egg whites, 3 whole eggs & a teaspoon of plain Greek yogurt in a bowl until completely incorporated and fluffy.
  4. In a LARGE oiled skillet {{I WISH MINE WAS BIGGER!!!}} add egg mixture, taking a spatula around the edges letting more of the raw egg mixture get cooked… when ready flip completely over in the pan… let cook another 1-2 minutes
  5. Mix turkey & onion mixture in with the mushrooms…. Add ½ of mixture on to the egg pancake.
  6. CAREFULLY fold the other half of the “pancake” on top and slowly carefully slide onto a plate {{Or in my case I ended up flipping them on the plate!}}
  7. REPEAT with other ½ of the ingredients!

Greek Yogurt Cream

¾ cup Plain Greek Yogurt

¼ cup chives

1 chipotle in adobo chopped fine

Pepper & salt to taste

  1. Add all ingredients in a bowl, mix until incorporated
  2. ENJOY!!

After such a great start to my Sunday I am off to fire up the grill & prep my food for the week!!! A little bit of time in the kitchen {{Or at the grill}} can save a TON of time during the week!!

Hope you had a great weekend & wonderful Saturday!

 

Signature

I’d Love To Know ~~ What’s your favorite twist on classic Sunday breakfast? How do you find new things in a new city?

 

One thought on “Weekend Warriors!

Leave a Reply

