About Me & My Dinner!

Hey Everyone! 

To start I’d just like to introduce myself. I’m Allison and just a girl trying to figure out this wonderland or Wellness Land that I have started to live in. I am a {{NEW!!}} Physical Therapist, a fitness enthusiast, I try to eat “clean” and feed my body the fuel it needs to make me the best Allison I can be. I love to experiment in the kitchen, in the gym and in the clinic. I have my own digestive and health problems, which add to my wellness journey. I truly believe that health and wellness is achieved through an endless journey of trial and error along with new growth and understanding of self. 

Why a blog?! I never was big into reading blog posts or listening to other people’s stories, likely because I was self conscious of my body and myself. I knew back then that I was not fueling my body with the nutrition that it needed but I truly didn’t know any different, and I was too stubborn to understand that just because I was in school to become a Physical Therapist and I have a wealth of knowledge on the body, I didn’t know it all nor was treating my body the way it deserved to be treated. However, in the recent months I have become a blog addict. I love to read and discover new fitness & lifestyle blogs that are similar to my mindset. These bloggers inspire me to go bigger, eat better, experiment in the kitchen, buy “new” foods and completely open my eyes to their worlds. I LOVE THAT! It makes me a little bit better each day!

My journey stated in PT school where I decided to take my health and fitness into my hands and make a difference for myself. That decision unleashed this fitness junky within me, which has started me down this “wellness land” journey. I have made big changes in my life the past two years that are now more of a routine than a conscious effort. These are things that my family has noticed and with my newfound passion I have started to share with friends, coworkers, random people on the street! It’s amazing how when you are passionate about something it just pours out of your mouth when the opportunity arises!! Well many family members and friends have started to pick my brain on what I do and HOW I do it. So I decided to start sharing my story, my journey and my experiences through Allison’s Wellness Land.

For the record I am NOT a registered dietitian all food and diet information I post will be my experiences and recipes that I likely have found from another source (who will be acknowledged) or are my own. I am not claiming that by reading this blog you will have the same results as me. I am just hoping that through sharing my stories I will be able to help others and encourage someone else to join me on my journey through this Wellness Land!

p.s. tonights dinner:

I was craving pizza tonight but not all the bread, cheese or grease that comes along with it… So I decided to make my own! I used ingredients I had in my fridge and had dinner ready in 45minutes without any planning. This was DELICIOUS!!! I loved all the flavors together and love how easy it was to make and how versatile it can be! 

ImageMexican Sausage and Veggie Pizza on Whole Wheat Tortilla Crust

Tortilla Crustadapted from http://www.theleangreenbean.com

  • 1c + extra whole wheat flour
  • 1tsp olive oil
  • 1/2-3/4c warm water
  • 1tbsp spice of choice (I used cayenne!)
  1. Combine ingredients in a bowl, kneed until combined, let sit in bowl for 20minutes, roll out to size of baking pan with some extra flour to prevent sticking. 

Pizza Toppings:

  • 3 hot italian turkey sausage links
  • 2 vine tomatoes
  • 1 green pepper
  • 2 small ears of corn
  • 2oz goat cheese 
  1. Place crust on a baking sheet and bake in a 350deg oven for approximately 10minutes or until golden and crispy. Flip half way if needed.
  2. In a preheated medium skillet over medium-high heat, remove sausage casings and place sausage in pan to brown.
  3. While browning the sausage, chop up all the veggies to desired sizes, I just rough diced everything. For the corn I cooked them first and then cut the kernels off the cob. 
  4. Layer sausage and veggies on the pizza “crust” whichever way you like. Place back in the oven for 12-15minutes, until the veggies are tender.
  5. Add crumbled goat cheese to the top of the pizza, bake off for another 3-5 minutes until the cheese is melted, or golden. 
  6. ENJOY!!!! 

SIDE NOTE — I forgot to bake my crust before adding the toppings… I was just too excited to eat!! I baked my raw dough with toppings at 350 for 15 minutes + 3 minutes on broil for the cheese and it turned out fine, the middle of the pizza was a bit wet still which is why I recommend baking it first for a CRISP Crust!! 

Hope you enjoy! please let me know if you try it out!! 

 

More to come on my journey and myself in the near future!! Hope you are as excited as I am to explore this wellness land with me! I know it’s a big task and that seems daunting but we can do it together!

~Allison

What started your wellness journey? What would you like to hear about? What are your struggles and strengths?

 

One thought on “About Me & My Dinner!

  1. This is awesome Allison! For me, my health journey really kicked into gear in summer 2012. I was saying on the couch stuffing my face with Oreos watching the documentary “fat sick and nearly dead”. I’ve never had an “aha” moment quite so clear!

    I tried your pizza (veganized of course!) and it was really good!! I love crispy crust!

Leave a Reply

